Symphony Silicon Valley presents Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony with Conductor Tito Muñoz and Superstar Anne Akiko Meyers performing Barber’s Violin Concerto, March 2 & 3 in San Jose

Symphony Silicon Valley presents Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony, March 2 & 3 in San Jose

Superstar Anne Akiko Meyers performs Barber’s Violin Concerto

Anne Akiko Meyers
Adam Schoenberg’s Canto opens the program and introduces us to a new composer very much in vogue today.  Next up is Barber’s virtuosic concerto, combining lush Romantic lyricism and angular ‘modern’ energy, with a brilliant ending that is a notorious test of the violinist’s skill. In the second half, we hear Tchaikovsky’s magnificent symphony, with its unparalleled mastery of all the orchestra’s voices — famously played through without a pause in WWII Leningrad during a ferocious bombing attack.  
Founded in 2002, Symphony Silicon Valley has progressed from daring idea to exciting reality, rapidly becoming the greater South Bay’s premiere orchestra and a notable community success story.
As the Mercury News wrote:
“Symphony Silicon Valley began as a phoenix orchestra, rising from the ashes of the old San Jose Symphony.  But …the “new” orchestra…is becoming a fixture on the scene, with its own way of doing things.  One night it may play Ellington, the next Mozart…carving out its own identity with numerous guest conductors, some unique repertory and a celebrated new home at the California.”
The Symphony’s artists, nationally recruited, locally resident, with an average performance tenure in San Jose of over 20 years, are recognized as among the best in the greater Bay Area.  Led by an exciting roster of distinguished guest conductors on the European model, the Symphony is an anchor tenant of San Jose’s magnificently restored downtown California Theatre, one of Northern California’s most outstanding music halls.  There, audiences and critics alike greet its concerts with enthusiasm.
Symphony Silicon Valley is setting an example of an innovative business model in the arts — market driven and financially conservative, with low overhead and the flexibility to match its programming to its support base.  It earns 60% of its revenue each year – an extraordinarily high proportion for a symphony of its size.
Adam Shoenberg: Canto
Samuel Barber: Violin Concerto, Op. 14
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64


Tito Munoz conducting the Cleveland Orchestra 

Conductor: Tito Muñoz
Soloist: Anne Akiko Meyers, violin
PRICES: $50 – $94  
BOX OFFICE: 408.286.2600 or
Or visit the Box Office between 10am and 5pm, Monday through Friday at 325 South First Street in downtown San Jose, between San Carlos and San Salvador Streets just one-half block from the California Theatre. 



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s